Ends on June 23, 2017
Clarissa Luard Award

Independent literary publishers are invited to apply for the Clarissa Luard Award, a cash prize of £10,000. The award seeks to recognise the adventurousness, innovative spirit and creativity of independent publishing and, in particular, the ability of small publishers to support and nurture writing talent and contribute to UK and Irish literature.

Publishers will be asked to write a proposal explaining how they will benefit from winning this award – this can be interpreted broadly and imaginatively. For example, the award may support the winning publisher to:

• embark on an original project.
• contribute to the on-going development of its authors.
• support a new writer.
• assist its growth into a new area of business.
• develop knowledge and expertise.
• provide continuity during a period of change.

Criteria for entry

A staff member from the publishing company applying for the award must submit its entry.

The award is open to independent publishers with an annual turnover of less than £1 million.

Publishers entering the award must be permanently based in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Publishers whose list mainly consists of literary fiction, poetry, literature in translation, graphic novels, children’s/young adult books and narrative non-fiction are eligible to apply. Narrative non-fiction is defined as fact-based books that have stylistic similarities to fiction, such as memoir and certain kinds of travel writing.

Publishers entering the award should have a publishing programme of at least five books a year and be able to demonstrate a list that has existed for a minimum of three years.

Publishers should primarily produce books written in the English language for this award.

Publishers entering the award should publish lists that are available as printed books. Digital-only publishers are not eligible to apply.

How to enter

The deadline for entry is 23 June 2017.

All entries must be made through Submittable. 

Publishers must also submit three books, published in the last two years, they feel adequately represent the ethos and range of their programme. Finished copies and proofs will be accepted.

Books must be submitted to New Writing North at the following address: Will Mackie, Clarissa Luard Award, New Writing North, 3 Ellison Terrace, Ellison Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8ST.

If you have a query about submissions please email Will Mackie via will@newwritingnorth.com.

Conditions of Entry

Representatives of the five shortlisted publishers will be invited to attend The David Cohen Prize/Clarissa Luard Award ceremony in London in November 2017. Publishers are responsible for any travel and accommodation expenses incurred for attending this event.

We reserve the right to vary the rules and conditions of entry and to make any amendments to the published schedule as are deemed necessary.

Judging Process

A panel of judges appointed by New Writing North will decide a shortlist of five publishers and the eventual winner.

The judging panel will include a range of expertise drawn from literature, retail and publishing.

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence or discussion about the judging process will be entered into.