Ends on

The NorthBound Book Award, supported by the University of York and in partnership with Saraband, is open to writers of fiction or narrative non-fiction who have completed a full manuscript. New, emerging or established writers may apply for this award. Please read the Eligibility carefully for further details.

There is one winner for this award. The award is for a full-length work. The winning writer will receive an advance against royalties of £5000, publication with Saraband and access to the Northern Writers’ Awards Talent Network. Royalties will be paid on Saraband’s standard terms.

The award celebrates the innovative spirit of independent publishing and the richness of writing from the North of England. Saraband is a leading award-winning independent publisher, now based in North West England, whose list includes Graeme Macrae Burnet, Chitra Ramaswamy and Karen Lloyd.

Read the Eligibility Guidelines here.

To enter writers should submit a full manuscript and a synopsis of up to 600 words. Please answer the application questions.

To apply for this award you should be:

  • Living in the North of England at the time of entering and planning to remain here for at least another 12 months.
  • Over the age of 18.
  • Have a full manuscript that you believe is ready to be considered for publication.

This award will be judged by a panel of representatives from the University of York, Saraband and New Writing North, alongside the writer Catherine Simpson.

For more information, please read the Eligibility and Terms and Conditions carefully.
For any enquiries, please read the FAQs. If you still need an answer, contact us at awards@newwritingnorth.com

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.