Ends on

This programme will offer a package of support to four writers of fiction, young adult fiction or narrative non-fiction who are yet to publish a full-length novel or collection of short stories.

Awards will be made to two writers of fiction or narrative non-fiction and one writer of young adult fiction; an additional writer will receive an award in memory of the writer Andrea Badenoch.

The programme has been devised by New Writing North to offer structured and developmental support to writers with a work in progress showing potential for publication. Each winner will receive £2000, mentoring and access to the Northern Writers’ Awards Talent Network.

Read the Eligibility Guidelines here.

To enter writers should submit a sample of 3000–6000 words and a synopsis of up to 600 words. Please answer the application questions.

To apply for a this award you should be:

  • Living in the North of England at the time of entering and planning to remain here for at least another 12 months.
  • Over the age of 18.
  • A debut author of fiction or narrative non-fiction or an debut author of young adult fiction; you may have published short work in magazines and anthologies.

These awards will be judged by Tahmima Anam and Doug Johnstone (Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction). Young Adult entries will be judged by Liz Flanagan. For more information, please read the Eligibility and Terms and Conditions carefully.

One place will be made in the name of Andrea Badenoch. The Andrea Badenoch Award is open to debut writers over the age of 42 who are women or non-binary. Please read the Eligibility criteria for this award.

For any enquiries, please read the FAQs. If you still need an answer, contact us at awards@newwritingnorth.com

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.