Ends on

The Tempest Prize will be awarded to one LGBTQ+ writer based in the North of England.

This award is open to poetry, fiction and narrative non-fiction. New, emerging and established writers can enter this award. 

The winner of the Tempest Prize will receive £1000, access to the Northern Writers’ Awards Network and mentoring from Andrew McMillan.

We’re grateful to Andrew McMillan, whose generous support has made this unique opportunity possible.

Read the Eligibility Guidelines here.

To enter writers will need to provide an extract of a work-in-progress. For fiction or narrative non-fiction this should be 3000-6000 words, along with a synopsis. For poetry, please enter up to 15 pages of poetry and a short commentary on your collection-in-progress. Please also answer the application questions.

To apply for this award you should be:

  • Living in the North of England at the time of entering and planning to remain here for at least another 12 months.
  • Over the age of 18.
  • Belonging to the LGBTQ+ community.
  • Working on a memoir, novel, young-adult novel, short-story collection, poetry collection or work of literary essays.
  • An unpublished, emerging or established writer.

For more information, please read the Eligibility and Terms and Conditions carefully.

For any enquiries, please read the FAQs. If you still need an answer, contact us at awards@newwritingnorth.com

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.